My Christmas wish

Once you’ve reached adulthood, Christmas is never quite the same as it was when you were a child.  I love Christmas, although now it’s about my own children, seeing their smiles, hearing their laughter and watching the delight on their faces as they open their presents on Christmas day!

The silly season really does put the masses into a state of panic.  Rushing around getting everything done, preparing for the big day, attending Christmas parties and get togethers. Squeezing everything in, and often forgetting to be patient, kind and nice to others.

Now in my mid thirties I am starting to realise it’s the little things I’d like the most this Christmas.

Today I was at the post office waiting in line.  Nearby was a woman with her two daughters, one not so happy about being in the pram.  Her mother was busy, trying to get her parcels together ready to send and wasn’t able to pay much attention to little Miss in her pram.  The little girl was making an awful whingeing noise as she struggled to get out of her restraints.

I looked over at her.   She was looking right at me.  She stopped making the noise. I hid my eyes behind my parcel to play a quiet game of peek a boo with her.  Peeking out from the side of my parcel, then from the top and then the other side. She watched me, silently.

I had the power to change the outcome for that Mum today in the post office.  I didn’t know her. That didn’t matter.  She needed some help with her daughter, and I was there to help out by distracting her. So I did. The woman didn’t see me playing peek a boo with her daughter, that didn’t matter either. I didn’t do it so she could thank me. I helped her simply because I could.

My Christmas wish is to be present.  Present in the moment. Being opened to contact with others, people we come in contact with during the day.  They might all be strangers to you, but in actual fact they are special to someone.  They could be someone’s mother, father, sister, brother, grandmother, grandfather, husband, wife, son, daughter, best friend.  Someone who is worth saying hello to in the lift, a friendly smile as you pass them by.  Acknowledgement.  It might just make their day!

Wishing you all a very merry Christmas and a happy 2017!

I’ll be back posting on the blog again in the new year. Thanks for supporting me as I fumble my way through this fun, new adventure blogging:

“Motherhood and life’s little catastrophes.”  For the love of two little boys and a beagle.

Love, Allie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “My Christmas wish

Leave a Reply

